www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 2:25 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:11 pm 
email admin your custom rank

I've been thinking of getting a hydrofoil (doel-fin) for my 91' 255 Sundowner. I fancy the thought of getting on plane quicker, getting better MPG's because the engine fights less to stay up on plane, and potentially higher top end speed! Im looking at the Stingray XR2 ($59), that is a cheap performance improver, if you ask me!

Does anybody use a hydrofoil on their boat, and could you post your experience or recommendations?

379 hours as of 8/8/21

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 2:12 pm 
Nauti Luv

While I have no experience, I have heard MANY people say not to use them because they can put a lot of undue stress on the transom of the boat. I would rather play with prop angles/pitch to change the overall performance of my boat.

Previous Boats:
1999 298 Vista "Seas The Day"
2008 H200SS "Nauti Luv"
2006 Tahoe Q4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 12:25 am 

I've had hyrdofoils on both my boths have been happy with both. My first boat was a 18ft Larson with the 4.3 V6 and VP SX drive. I had the Sting Ray XR3 which I think is probably the top of the line hydrofoil on the market. Immediate noticable improvement. Quicker holeshot and getting on plane. Really helped when I had a full boat load as well.