www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 1:53 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:27 pm 
email admin your custom rank

Hey Guys! I'm currently shopping for a trailer for our 268 and need some advice. We plan to winter store on it and make 5-6 trips a year..all freshwater. I got a quote on a Loadmaster painted steel trailer which from everything I've heard is supposed to be a great trailer. The price seems right, but it comes with 4 wheel electric drum brakes(which I assumed was a good thing). When I stopped at a local dealer today for some quotes he said to stay away from electric brakes due to electrical failure and to make sure I get surge brakes. Who's right here? I thought electric brakes with a brake controller would be the way to go?

Would I be better off just getting a factory FW trailer for about the same price? Any other advice or suggestions?Thanks!

1979 AMF Alcort Puffer
Previous:
2003 FW190 Horizon
1973 Startcraft 18ft "Sea Pickle"

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:44 pm 

Because I am in a salt water area, I would only buy galvanized, even if I was in freshwater, one less thing to maintain. Brakes, I don't know if electric drums would last in freshwater, some say they will, but I have only used surge brakes. Electric control is more precise than surge brakes, but if it were me, I'd have a galvanized trailer, with Kodiak disc brakes.

2008 Walker Bay 8

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0/Selectrac
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.7 Hemi/Quadradrive II

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 8:03 pm