www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 1:16 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Newbe saying Hello
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 3:16 pm 
Tadpole

Hello;I am new to both this site and to boating!
My name is Keith and I live in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, Canada.
Late last August I tripped upon a deal to get my new (to my family and I) a 1988 Freedom 160 with a 3.0L with the OMC Cobra out drive.
The previous owner bought it from his boss; he replaced the floor with all new plywood and sealed it with a marine type of epoxy. Then he took it into one of the local marina's there and had them do a once over on the craft fixing what it needed. They started with the Factory FourWinns trailer and put new tires and repacked the wheel bearings, replaced the light wiring along with the tail light assemblies.
Moved on to the boat, They changed the oil, altenator belt, spark plugs wires and cap set along with the fuel filter. They even replaced the starter and did a compression test on it (140psi across the board). That is when they decided to do a running test on it and hoked up the water muffs to the out drive, started it up. They shut down and asked him if he wanted them to replace the motor as the block was cracked. His boss didn't winterize it and the water froze.
This is where I came in, I seen the boat on a classified listing and answered it. He was so ticked at the whole thing that he just wanted to dump it. I picked it up for next to nothing and took it home.