www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Fri May 10, 2024 11:41 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:39 am 
Goldfish

Hey Everyone :)

We have a 1999 Sundowner 205 and love the boat to bits! The only thing that is quite poor on the boat is the fitted sound system, the only speakers that are fitted are 2 in the doors either side of the engine at the back and 2 in the cuddy which don't seem to work. I would like to try and upgrade the system overall, hoping for 4 main speakers and 2 Subwoofers (7 inch size) all powered by Subs.

The only thing is that I am a bit new to the whole auto/marine audio scene and don't really know reputations of various manufacturers and such. I would presume we would want a Amp that has a relatively low power consumption so that when we are on the anchor the system doesn't run the batteries down?

I know that aguyindallas did a very nice audio project with Treo Engineering amps and says that he loves them but the problem is that I cannot find a supplier for them here in the UK, only from the USA and shipping them here could be rather pricey! So does anybody know of good speaker locations for the other 2 (1 either side) and for the 2 subs and the amps!? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,

Rob :)

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:57 am 
Nauti Luv

Yes, I am very happy with my install and amps. I have ran the crap out of them with virtually ZERO power draw. You have to understand that running to power hungry JL Audio 10W3's at cranked volumes takes some power. These amps just seem to be super efficient and barely even warm up. I am very happy with them and would recommend them to anyone. The fact is, they seem to be a small, up and coming brand and are not very well known yet (maybe never will be ?). Another alternative, although perhaps quite a bit more in cost is the Alpine PDX line. They are supposed to be very efficient as well.