www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:34 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:04 am 
email admin your custom rank

Tried posting on the Formula forum, but it doesn't have the traffic like this board always has! I have a few questions about this winter that maybe someone here can provide their experience with.

This is my first year with Heated Storage, as my marina keeps my boat in its current rack for the entire year, in which they keep the building at 60 degrees. My questions are for anyone who also store this way, I am looking for things you have discovered or other types of prep you have done.

I will not be winterizing the engines as both the marina owner and my mechanic said that is the best way to go. However I was still thinking of draining the manifolds and back filling with eco safe coolant, but many have said that isnt even necessary.

I plan to drain the fresh water system just for peace of mind, but should I fill with red pop? Will be pumping out the holding tank as well.

What do you typically do with the batteries? Should I remove them? or just rely on the selector switch as usual to ensure they are off.

If anyone else has anything they can share that would be really helpful! Thanks in advance.

Past: 1989 180 Horizon

http://www.robcamerondesign.com

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:24 am 

I would take the batteries home and put them on a tender. At a minimum, I would drain the water from the engine and other systems. I would also ask the marina about power/heat backup and then prepare for the worst case scenario. If they have good backup systems, draining the water should be sufficient. If the backups are questionable, using antifreeze might be advisable. This would also be a good time to complete any other maintenance that you plan on doing before using the boat in spring. This way, you can get back on the water with minimal fuss.