www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Mon May 13, 2024 8:08 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 8:29 pm 
Clownfish

My trim gauge stopped working sometime during the season last year. I figured it was the sender and have read here how much of a PITA they can be to replace, not to mention the cost. So, I was going to just let it be but we splashed for the first time yesterday and it really is annoying not to have a trim gauge. I wanted to see if anyone had thoughts as to diagnosing what my actual problem is (sender vs wiring vs gauge).

-I have a VP SX drive, if that matters... and factory Faria gauges
-Gauge doesn't work at all, no movement whatsoever when trimming in/out
-My visual inspection of the sender doesn't reveal any obvious faults, but I am by no means an expert
-Actual trim works just fine

I thought I had read here once that you can somehow diagnose weather you have a sender vs. gauge problem with a multimeter, but can't find the thread now. Anyone able to help :)

Also, if it was the sender, is the job easier to do when you pull the drive? I was going to have the drive pulled at the end of the season for regular inspection, but if it would be easier (AKA cheaper) to have it pulled now and the sender replaced I might do it that way.

As always, thanks in advance.

Former Boat:
2008 H180 w/ 3.0L VP

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 8:44 pm 
email admin your custom rank