www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sun Jun 16, 2024 12:32 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 7:46 am 
email admin your custom rank

I warned you guys I'm new at this, and full of questions. Lol. How much water is normal if any In the bilge. We stopped for lunch and I forgot to leave the bilge switch on. Then we cruised around with it not on for a while and sat in a cove. Then I realized it wasn't on and checked the bilge and it had quite a bit of water in it. Probably 4 or 5 inches. Do I have a leak I need to track down, or is this just operator error. Toilet valve was left open on wet side but that shouldn't fill the bilge. If it is Normal do you just leave bilge on all night when you anchor out. If I do need to track down a leak where would you start

Thanks
Rick

Last edited by Rick2752 on Sat Jun 01, 2013 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: Bilge water how much
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 8:26 am 

Rick,
Your bilge pump has an automatic float switch so you don't need the switch to be on for it to work. If your pump isn't working then that's a whole different problem, but if you want to get familiar with it's operation put a garden hose in the bilge and watch it kick on and off with the float switch. If the pump if switched on for long periods of time with no water to pump it could damage the pump.

The pump never fully evacuates your bilge dry, and usually when it shuts off water back flows into the bilge a little from the output hose. If you can hear the pump run but it's not moving water the pick up screen could be clogged.

1979 AMF Alcort Puffer
Previous:
2003 FW190 Horizon
1973 Startcraft 18ft "Sea Pickle"

Last edited by Bliss36 on Tue May 28, 2013 8:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 8:28 am 

I aim for no water in the bilge.