www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 8:25 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: XDP Drives
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:25 pm 
email admin your custom rank

Has anyone had an XDP drive here? If so, can anyone tell me the good and the bad about these drives?

2005 Sundowner 205
Columbus, OH

Post subject: Re: XDP Drives
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:10 pm 

Lot of bads, not a whole lot of goods from what I've seen and experienced.. For me, just bought a '04 328 Vista with twin XDP drives, and have thus far not had a good experience.. Hoping the issues are over, but from what I understand, bellows issues exist through three revisions of them (have not experienced this yet, but I'm just getting started).. My boat, was inspected by a certified marine surveyor, and a marine engine surveyor (two different people), and my issue was still missed. Was on the boat several times before and during the survey, and never once saw the bildge run.. THe boat is in otherwise immaculate condition and was well cared for by the previous owner, and was rack stored during the boating season.. We purchased the boat, had a trailer made for it, and hauled it home from West Virginia to Central Illinois.. It was a salt water boat with it's original owner, but as I said, was rack stored when not in use and flushed after every use. I get it home, in the water, and in my slip, used it for one weekend after its arrival, and the following week get a call that the bilge is running every half hour at the most. I immediately headed down to check it out, and could see water coming in somewhere at the transom area of the drive line it seemed, but couldn't pinpoint it for lack of visibility. I called the marina the next day, had them go look it over, and they determined that there was a hole in the exhaust y-pipe at the elbow. I was able to verify with a camera, and pulled it out the following weekend (after using it a little more