www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Wed May 22, 2024 11:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Oil Alarm
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:53 pm 
Guppy

Hi All,

I am a newbie with a '01 180 horizon. This boat maintenance free, and I have done only the usual oil changes. The boat just reached the 100 hour mark this last week. In the past 2 hours of engine use, at low rpms the engine oil light comes on the VDO dash and makes a loud beep. I checked the oil level, it was fine and clear as it only has on about 8 hours since the oil was changed at the beginning of the year. Again, the oil icon and beeping only come on at low rmp, and it is usually after we have been crusing at 3K rmp or more for some bit of time. If I shut off the engine for a few minutes, the oil light is off and no beeping. But it seems it can come back 5 minutes or 2 hours later.

Any suggestions?

The dealership is about 30 miles away from my house, but do to traffic will take me about 1-1.5 hours to get there.

All aspects of this boat have been kept in great condition (Hull, engine, out unit...). I just don’t want to get bent over by the dealership, as I haven't been there before and I have no idea how severe this problem is.

Post subject: Re: Oil Alarm
PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:46 pm 
230 Mike

Could be a bad oil pressure sensor or connection with that sensor, or a ground issue with the VDO dash. It's a common problem with them.

Oh. And "maintenance free boat" - good luck with that. :lol: :mrgreen:

Mike
2005 Four Winns 230/240
VP 5.7GXi/DP
1998 F-150 XLT
Boat Pic

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:17 am 
Guppy

Thanks Mike. That is good info to know.

Yes, I know. The happiest day for a boat owner is when you buy your boat, the second happiest is when you sell it.

-CBW

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 2:51 am 
230 Mike