www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 5:49 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:21 pm 
Guppy

I'm new to boating and towing and could use some real-world advice about a unique situation.

I'm about to buy a 2003 H180 OB & FW trailer (total weight around 3,000 lbs.). My intended tow vehicle is a Subaru Forester rated for towing 1,500 lbs. That's a bad combination. I know.

But, I will only be towing the boat 100 feet (yes, FEET) from my house to the launch ramp once per season, and then back up to the house. The chances are extremely slim that I would ever have to tow the boat longer than this distance. If the boat ever needed major service, the nearby marina could send a truck to retrieve the boat so I don't have to drive with an underrated vehicle.

I know that everyone swears by big trucks, but in this case I'm not too keen on buying a pickup truck or huge SUV for a 100-foot trip twice a year.

Is the Forester up to the task?

Thank you!!

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:48 pm 
email admin your custom rank

mountainman wrote:
I'm new to boating and towing and could use some real-world advice about a unique situation.

I'm about to buy a 2003 H180 OB & FW trailer (total weight around 3,000 lbs.). My intended tow vehicle is a Subaru Forester rated for towing 1,500 lbs. That's a bad combination. I know.

But, I will only be towing the boat 100 feet (yes, FEET) from my house to the launch ramp once per season, and then back up to the house. The chances are extremely slim that I would ever have to tow the boat longer than this distance. If the boat ever needed major service, the nearby marina could send a truck to retrieve the boat so I don't have to drive with an underrated vehicle.

I know that everyone swears by big trucks, but in this case I'm not too keen on buying a pickup truck or huge SUV for a 100-foot trip twice a year.

Is the Forester up to the task?

Thank you!!