www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:19 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 7:50 pm 
Seahorse

So far we have had our 1994 Freedom 170 boat out 4 times and each time after a few hours there is a black film covering the rear of the boat at the water line. The boat doesn't leak any fluids and doesn't use any oil. I'm new to boating and this may be a dumb question but do others have this problem? I'm guessing it is exhaust residue and is normal and hope I'm right. Anyone else have the same problem? Thanks in advance.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:16 pm 
Villiage Idiot

This is not normal. Have you checked your outdrive Oil?

6.2L Bravo One turning a 21P HIFive
Wakeboard Tower with Perfect Pass Stargazer version
Missouri River; Kansas City, Mo.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:44 pm 
email admin your custom rank

When we first got our boat it did the same thing (slight exhaust looking residue on the back). The guy before us didn't use the boat hardly at all. After we ran it several week ends it stopped. I don't know if we ran the carbon out of it but it seems to run better now and we no longer get that black residue.
Hope this helps.

2002 Ford F150 Harley Davidson Edition (http://www.nhtoc.com) 378 hp & 465 tq at rear wheels
2008 Honda Accord EX-L w/Nav

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 11:06 pm 

Typically I find a dark brown residue on the back of the boat but it is the "pollen" from the seagrass near the dock and there is not a lot of grass but it but it makes a mess simply because the way it is tied up with the back usually facing "upstream" of the lake current.