www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:18 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:12 am 
Tadpole

Hello forum members,
My wife and I decided last fall that this will be the year we finally buy a boat. We are in Central KY and have decent lakes and rivers in all directions. Im semi new to boating, I grew up on the Lake, but Ive never owned my own and my Dad sold his in 2008. He highly recommended 4Winns and I hit the online marketplace running. Ive spent hours reading about transoms, bellows, ect. and my wife is fed up, she just wants a boat already. Im a firefighter and shes an educator so our budget for our starter boat is....used runabout. As many before me, I decided the Horizon series was perfect and started shopping. I narrowed my ideal used boat down to an 18ft Horizon, early 2000's, 4.3L of either flavor, freshwater, ect. I have been stunned by the asking prices in the midwest. $10k barely gets us in the ballgame. Im taking a ride later today on a 2002 170 4.3L that is $8000 non negotiable.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=9755

I found the above post from 2012 and the guy was in the exact same position as me. Even then, 8 years ago, the consensus was that he was overpaying. In frustration I decided to do a search on the entire eastern seaboard and found that the early 2000's 4Winns Horizons were all hovering around $8-10k if they were decent. So am I crazy, are they holding their value for a decade, or is it a really bad time to shop? I should add 98% of the time it will be us and our small dog.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:39 pm 
email admin your custom rank

Quote:
So am I crazy, are they holding their value for a decade, or is it a really bad time to shop?

Welcome!
I can't say much about Horizons holding their value, but I will say that we paid $6,400 for our '99 H180 w/ 130 OB back in 2011. Based on your searches, did mine make money? :?: