www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 9:06 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:30 am 
Sting Ray

Does anyone have an experience in towing with a Ford Explorer? I have an '05 2WD with the class III/IV hitch. I have towed it a short distance from the dealer to the marina without issue. But, I am considering a longer trip - about 100 miles one way and would like to hear if there is anyone with similar experience. Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:30 pm 
230 Mike

Do you know what your total "wet" weight is, and what the tow capacity on the vehicle is? What type of terrain will this trip be over?

Mike
2005 Four Winns 230/240
VP 5.7GXi/DP
1998 F-150 XLT
Boat Pic

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:13 am 
Shark

I just got a 06 200 Horizon I tow with a 02 4wd 6 cyl Explorer and the smaller class III hitch. Tows and stops fine over flat terrain. I have no experience with it in mountains but think it would be very challenging. Trailer brakes are a big help. The Ford towing package adds a different rear end and trans cooler. I may add the larger class IV? hitch but because Ford welds the orginal hithch on, the big trailer store here says the new hitch would have to be mounted underneath the orginal.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 9:41 am 
268 Vista

Piece of cake. If your ramps are steep, might be an issue with only 2WD pulling out of a slippery ramp. Otherwise, no problem towing your boat just about anywhere you want.

Current Boat: 2004 Chaparral 235 ssi cuddy

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 4:49 pm 
Tadpole

I pull my 180 with a Jeep wrangler, no issues. Just give yourself alot of space to stop, and keep an eye on your temp. Water Wetter in the cooling system helps alot. Also, if you don't have a tranny cooler, get one.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2006 8:45 am 
email admin your custom rank