www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sat Jun 15, 2024 11:36 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:16 pm 
email admin your custom rank

Hello All,

I am going to be adding some stereo equipment to my '06 Horizon 200 and, in preparation for the additional electrical load, want to add a second battery. I am a relative novice at marine electrical systems and was looking for some tips, advice, and/or instructions. I want to run the starter, bilge and other "essentials" of the original battery and the lights, stereo equipment, and other auxillary items on the second batter. I would like to put the battery on the port side to balance out the weight. Has anyone done this before? Is this something best left for the professionals at the dealer? If so, what kind of cost am I looking at? Any diagrams, instructions, pictures, links or general advice would be greatly appreciated!

Sunday Dinner
'06 Horizon 200

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:22 pm 
230 Mike

I HIGHLY recommend you check out Al's boat improvement pages. Al's a longtime regular over at boatingabc.com. He's also "done it all" on boats ranging in size form 18' to 34'. He's forgotten more about marine electrical systems than I'll ever know.

http://members.toast.net/boatguy/projects.htm

Good luck!

Mike
2005 Four Winns 230/240
VP 5.7GXi/DP
1998 F-150 XLT
Boat Pic

Last edited by 230 Mike on Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:23 pm 
Narwhal

I've been looking at the same. I can help with some links, but am still well in advance of my 20 hour, so don't look to follow in my footsteps.

Here's a link to a solenoid and switch combo from Blue Sea Systems (well thought of in the marine industry):

http://bluesea.com/products/7650

Poke around at the above link and you'll find highly detailed wiring diagrams and explinations of how the 'Add a Battery' package works.