www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:01 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:27 pm 
Clownfish

Hi

Have just acquired our new boat a Sundowner 205 1990 Vintage I do believe 8) . With a 5.7 OMC Cobra. Now I'm new to inboards & this is my largest boat yet, previously had 3 smaller 16ft'ish boats until now. I'm UK based & we usually launch from Poole.

Here she is, when I picked her up, "Powertech II" is her name, though I'm tempted to change it for something a little more cheeky. Yes it's a USA spec trailer & I'm aware of the issues regards it.

Ready for a sea trial :twisted:

We had our first sea trial on the weekend & all went well, no overheating, no major issues, all bar one the original gauges work just some minor fettling on the interior cosmetics. All the ancillaries work fine, inc VHF, bilge pump etc etc. I'll be giving her a once over with new pump, seals, hoses & bellows etc where needed.

The previous owner told me they only ever made two yellow ones of this model? not sure how true that is but googling brings up no others the same. She has the original transport, camping & full covers which is nice. In fact the whole boat is incredibly original throughout. All the gelcoat is original too & is in damn good condition for her age. She has an inbuilt swim platform not sure if they all had that??

So what do I need to know, check, common issues etc???

Having used her & given her a good days trial my list starts with

1) Bow roller!! daft idea not having one with her hull shape