www.iFourWinns.com

Dedicated to Current and Future Owners
It is currently Thu May 09, 2024 5:16 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:15 am 
Sting Ray

Hello everyone. I've been reading the posts over the last week and I wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I am Gary from Worcester, MA. My wife, Diane, and I have been boating for many years, and after a five-year time away from it (due to career change) we are happily back into it. We've always boated Lake Winnipesaukee in NH, spending several years with my boat slipped in the town of Alton for the summers. We just signed papers on a used 96 Sundowner 245, and will be slipping it at the marina where we purchased it, Lakeport Landing in Lakeport/Laconia, NH. The boat seems in very good shape, so i am hoping for a terrific spring so I can get her outfitted with all the upgrades I am thinking of, and then get her into the water.

I have noticed that the 245 is not a common boat. I am thinking it was the size that caused this? I find plenty on 205 and 215, and some on 225 and newer 285, but not that much on the 245. My guess would be that if you were buying a 24' cuddy, maybe people went for the 248 vista for more room. Don't know.

I look forward to reading more about projects and comments on your boats. I look forward to posting pictures of her on the water, come spring.
Thanks, and take care,
-Gary and Diane Lockwood

Lake Winnipesaukee, NH

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:23 am 
268 Vista

Welcome. You will find that the 245 was a very popular boat. Why you don't see that many, is people keep
them because they do so well for their intended purpose. Day boat with ocassional overnighting, and big enough
to pack some people on and handle rougher conditions.

There are lots of 245's here in Michigan, just not alot for sale. And, overall, cuddy cabin boats were not a big seller
for Four Winns, that is why they no longer make any.

Current Boat: 2004 Chaparral 235 ssi cuddy